Seventh Station: Jesus Falls the Second Time

March 4, 2016 § 2 Comments

Jesus falls the second time

Artist: Linda Mason

“If we are brave enough often enough, we will fall; this is the physics of vulnerability…Daring is not saying, ‘I’m willing to failure.’ Daring is saying, ‘I know I will eventually fail and I’m still all in.’”

– Brené Brown, Daring Greatly

Linda Mason’s station of Jesus Falling for the Second Time provokes a sense of vulnerability and destabilization. I love the horizontal axis of the cross in this station. The crowd depicted on the axis seems to be almost a mirror of human vulnerability, a mirror of the humanity of Christ carries as well as a mirror of divine love that also carries it to the point of death.

I have always appreciated this station precisely for the sheer vulnerability inherent in it. Jesus falls again, after Simon has helped him and after Veronica has wiped his face clean. He still falls. And so do we fall again and again. Brené Brown’s quote above reminds us that falling is inevitable and yet it is also the birthplace of vulnerability; moreover, getting back up from our falls is courage.  Brené Brown goes on to say in in Daring Greatly that this kind of courage transforms us:

“We can rise up from our failures, screwups, and falls, but we can never go back go where we stood before we were brave or before we fell. Courage transforms the emotional structure of our being.”

For me it is a liberating idea that not only is falling inevitable, but that it is also OK and indeed necessary. This falling is not meant to be a judgement or meant to define who we are. Falling is part of the human experience and it is part of what helps change and grow us. These experiences help us live into our true selves, because what counts is not that we fell but that we dared to get back up. Like Jesus we will fall, but we will not be able to experience resurrection without falling being part of the journey.

– Nicole Hanley

§ 2 Responses to Seventh Station: Jesus Falls the Second Time

What’s this?

You are currently reading Seventh Station: Jesus Falls the Second Time at Blog of St. Luke in the Fields.


%d bloggers like this: